WISP Directory

Welcome to the WISP Directory

A global directory of wireless Internet Service Providers.


 

  Home arrow About Us arrow Methods of Getting in Touch with Us (Humorous)
Main Menu
Home
Browse the Directory
Search the Directory
Contact Us
Terms & Policies
About Us
Advertise With Us
Login Form





Lost Password?
No account yet? Register
Latest Listings
1. Lastmile Networks, LLC
    www.gaw.com
    Category: Vermont
    Created: Aug 5, 2008
2. Cyber Broadband Inc
    www.cyberbroadband.net
    Category: Alabama
    Created: Jul 23, 2008
3. WiSpring, Inc.
    www.wispring.com
    Category: Massachusetts
    Created: Jul 15, 2008
4. INTRONIX NETWORKS
    intronix.net.in
    Category: System Integrators
    Created: Jul 14, 2008
5. TNN Communications
    terranova.net
    Category: Florida
    Created: Jul 11, 2008
Show more...
Featured Partners

Methods of Getting in Touch with Us (Humorous) Print E-mail
Hello! We often receive various emails from those interested in our Directory participants. We generally answer all of them and sometimes come across those of an unusual nature.

The Directory is a free service, provided for industry participants, i.e. providers, manufacturers, resellers, etc. We generally enjoy helping our participants further expand their presences and are usually very happy to do so. That's one of the major benefits of being listed in the Directory.

However, there are times when we're contacted "unusually." Read on for the context. We think you'll enjoy it!

Note: the following was posted to the ISP-Wireless mailing list as I was shocked and appalled initially.

If you want to see the original message, here it is.

Since our actually very polite reply to the message below, we received a simple "you're welcome" in return. Perhaps the gentleman needs a change in medication?


Howdy all. I hope you don't mind my asking you for some advice.

I received the following email early this morning from a gentleman who expressed displeasure of being listed in the WISP Directory. I'm just wondering how I should reply back to him.

A little backgrond (I've removed the sensitive information to protect his privacy): Someone in his organization registered his WISP on 4/8/05. I have his partner's full name and email address. It came from his domain name so it's legitimate. I approved the listing on the same day. I've also been defaulting the contact form to show however the majority of participants have their listing contact forms not showing to help keep the spam down (some of you whom are listed may recall the pains I took to eliminate third-parties from spamming our participants via the contact forms; unfortunately, there's no way to prevent people from opening the forms, one participant at a time, and copying and pasting; tedious for sure), however I felt since this member may be interested in having potential subscribers contact him, I activated his form which delivers inquiries to the original account, in this case, his partner's email address.

Since the Directory is a free service and since participants have to actually request to be listed (no one has ever, ever been listed in the Directory without their permission; they're only listed if they go through the sign-up procedure), I was a bit shocked and appalled by this message, especially since we never added the member personally; his partner added the listing. I only approved it.

My question is, does anyone have any advice on how to reply back to this gentleman? I have pulled his listing, of course.

It's really no sweat off my back as, again, this is a free service. But, as many of you may know, I've always done what I could to help promote WISPs and the industry as a whole and will continue to do so.

Thx much, in advance!

Regards,
Kory



> M*** I**** wrote:
> > This is an enquiry e-mail via http://www.wispdirectory.com from:
> > M** I*****
> >
> > I own W********e and you MOTHER F***ERS have 1) listed us in your pathetic directory without my explicit permission, and 2) have a FRAUDULENT LISTING for a form to 'contact the owner', which in fact does NOT deliver email to me. > > > > I DEMAND that you remove the W*********e listing immediately, or you will hear from my attorney. > >

> > AND F**K YOU.

FYI, our friend operates a WISP out of Mendocino County, California. Something in the wine? That's as much info that we'll reveal.

Basically, there are ways to contact us. Unfortunately, this isn't the best method of doing so.

To your WISP'ing success!

Kory Mohr
The WISP Centric Group

 

Home | Browse the Directory | Search the Directory | Contact Us | Terms & Policies | About Us | Advertise With Us |

 
 
 
© 2008 Global Listing of Wireless ISPs & Related Organizations - WISP Directory
A WISP Centric Group website